Uplander 2005-2009
This sport-van offers a sporty feel and roomy interior, all in the body of a minivan.
Platform: U-Body

Rear brake lights

Search this Thread

Old December 20th, 2018, 7:41 PM
CF Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Rear brake lights

I have a 2006 which I bought two months ago. I'm still learning how everything works. What would cause the rear brake lights to stay on, and how do you fix the problem? I was visiting friends, and I opened the automatic side door and then closed it again. While locking all the doors, I noticed the brake lights were still on. I locked and unlocked the doors, released and pressed the parking brake to no avail. Then we found that the lower front lights -- the ones shaped like lozenges were also wouldn't go off. One of my friends, who is a retired mechanic, fiddled with the light switch under the brake pedal, to no avail. He then showed me which fuse controlled the battery, so I could take it out to shut it off after I got home.

When I arrived back, the rear brake lights were no longer an issue. However, I noticed that my rear door was unlocked. I'm a landscaper and I have all kinds of equipment back there. Could something bumping the rear door ajar cause the light to stay on? Also, earlier that day I tried to drive off with my parking brake on. I couldn't drive it very far but I could tell I'd put a lot of pressure on the parking brake apparatus. Would that cause a brake light malfunction? Is it just a temporary problem, a minor inconvenience? Or is it likely to come back again and become a permanent problem? And, is there an easy fix? (If it's a hard fix, how can it be done?)

Thanks, Inari.

Last edited by Inari; December 20th, 2018 at 7:42 PM. Reason: making it clearer
Old December 29th, 2018, 9:44 PM
CF Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post