Venture 1997-2005
This minivan from Chevy offers a sporty look as well as all of the modern additons of the minivan market.
Platform: U-Body

2002 Chevy venture, slight over heating at highway speeds after major work for overhe

Search this Thread

Old June 26th, 2016, 2:56 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 Chevy venture, slight over heating at highway speeds after major work for overhe

I've been fighting the cooling system on this van for almost three months. I'm going to preface this with the work I've done in chronological order.

Water pump, thermostat, upper and lower rad hoses, orings, temp sensor. After these fixes I was noticing I was getting bubbles in the coolant overflow tank and it smelled like exhaust. I changed the head gaskets along with every other gasket dealing with cooling or intake along the way. I finished it off by flushing the cooling system.

Now I have no more bubbles in the coolant over flow tank but I'm still seeing my temp gauge slowly float to 5/8th at highway speeds. Takes it about 10-15 minutes. The coolant gauge drops below half once I'm doing city driving.

Yea both the fans are working and the air damn is installed.

I'm think I sill might possibly have air trapped in the system or I didn't flush it well enough and still have debris in the system.
Any help would be awesome I'm fed up with this van
Old June 26th, 2016, 5:04 PM
cj1
CF Junior Member

Verify actual ECT with scan tool. Is it above normal operating temp?
Old June 26th, 2016, 5:10 PM
CF Beginner

Originally Posted by cj1
Verify actual ECT with scan tool. Is it above normal operating temp?
Do you think it may be the gauges?
Old June 27th, 2016, 1:22 PM
cj1
CF Junior Member

Best to compare to ECT from scan tool or you could reinstall the old sensor maybe a difference between sensors.
Do you have a cooling fan controller also?
Old June 27th, 2016, 2:05 PM
CF Beginner

Originally Posted by cj1