Notices
2007 - 2013 (GMT900) Section for all discussion related to the 2007-2013 Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

2011 Silverado Electrical problems - This is getting ridiculous

Search this Thread

Old November 3rd, 2016, 3:06 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2011 Silverado Electrical problems - This is getting ridiculous

I used to be a GM tech. I've been wrenching on cars / trucks for more than 25 years. Owned plenty of GM products, but I think this might be my last one.

In August '16 purchased a used 2011 Silverado 1500 4.8 2WD for my college aged son's primary vehicle. 60K miles. Very clean truck. Even though it was a 2WD a previous owner had installed a reputable aftermarket "leveling kit". This only consists of a metal spacer under the strut and and blocks in the rear lead springs. Larger tires / aftermarket wheels were installed. When I bought the truck, the TPMS light was constantly on and it appeared to be getting no signal from the TPMS system. Since I planned on installing new tires, I went ahead and ordered new AC Delco TPMS sensors for each wheel and had them installed when the new tires were put on. Turns out there were no TPMS sensors AT ALL before, as I suspected. I then programmed the TPMS system via the remote entry FOB and TPMS worked perfectly. No check engine lights.