Cavalier Starting in the 1980s. the Cavalier made a name for itself by offering an affordable 2 and 4 door compact.
Platform: J-body

New Cavalier Owner Help

Search this Thread

Old June 21st, 2011, 3:53 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Cavalier Owner Help

Greetings,

First time posting on the forums. There is a Cavalier I am currently interested in, located here, and it looks like a nice car. I am new to chevy, currently being a 98 stang owner myself, and would like to know if there is anything I need to look out for with this car if I purchase it? Mechanical, electrical, body etc. Thanks for the help!
Old June 22nd, 2011, 12:14 PM
CF Junior Member

Originally Posted by blckninja
Greetings,

First time posting on the forums. There is a Cavalier I am currently interested in, located here, and it looks like a nice car. I am new to chevy, currently being a 98 stang owner myself, and would like to know if there is anything I need to look out for with this car if I purchase it? Mechanical, electrical, body etc. Thanks for the help!
Hey man,

Chevrolet Cavaliers offer typical economy car fuel-efficiency and most of the amenities that its foreign competition offers, however they are unfortunately plagued with a few notorious reliability issues. Besides the typical things that you'd scrutinize when looking at a used-car, I would make certain to inspect the head gaskets, water pumps, fuel pump, alternator and the plug wires (it may be a good idea to inspect the condition of the entire ignition system as this was a major weak spot in the Cavalier's build quality). I've had friends who have owned Cavaliers and every one of them have had issues with these components.

I'm not trying to discourage you from checking out this car- please interpret my personal experiences with Cavaliers as just that- my own anecdotal experience with the vehicles. You could get lucky and snag a very reliable example and enjoy hundreds of thousands of trouble-free miles