Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

Can I Remove AIR system

Search this Thread

Old January 26th, 2012, 7:47 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can I Remove AIR system

I have an 86 chevy c10 with the stock 305. I really only use this vehicle on the weekends to go to lowes, home depot, haul lawn mower to my dad's house, etc. Not a daily driver. Also I should metion it does not have to pass emmsions and has an "antique" tag on it.

I just recently acquired this vehicle from a realtive (first mistake..lol) and although it ran I new it had some problems. I have removed the carbureator (quadrajet) and installed a new eldelbrock. (before the bashing begins understand that I am not a vehicle mechanic and my knowledge is limited and I was told by someone I trust to put this new one on because unless I know what I am doing with the quadrajet I might have issues fine tuning it.) I may not be a true mechanic I like to use this one to learn on so I do all of the work myself (within reason). While I am at it i have put all new hoses, thermostat, etc.

Now to my question... Can I remove the AIR (air injection reaction) system? (smog pump,air injection pipe, diverter valve,check valews, etc.)

My limited knowledge says yes and all I should have to do is make sure I plug the exhaust ports where I remove the tubes so I dont have an exhaust leak under the hood. Everything that I find leads back to the emmisions and I do understand and respect that but in my current situation I dont think that would apply. Thanks for the help.
Old January 26th, 2012, 8:24 PM
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Why do you want to remove it?
Old January 26th, 2012, 9:52 PM
CF Beginner