Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

Rochester Quadrajet TPS problem

Search this Thread

Old October 8th, 2019, 11:47 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rochester Quadrajet TPS problem

Hello:
Newbie here hoping I might get help, this Throttle Position Sensor prob has me stumped!
The rig I’m working on is an 89 Chevy Caprice with the 305 olds engine. The code reader is reading 21, TPS voltage to high and 45, rich exhaust (make sense)

I have been consistently reading about 3.39 volts (on the middle connection that should have the voltage variation) no matter what position the throttle is in. I replaced the TPS and also the ICM (as it is called on the 305 olds engine) and the reading is the same, with a very small variation when the throttle is operated.

I then unplugged from the TPS and checked the voltage coming from the plug, the 5 volts is coming to the top wire, and BEHOLD the middle wire (that should have the varying voltage) is reading 3.39 volts when disconnected. Shouldn’t this read 0 or close when the TPS is disconnected? I suspect this is over-riding anything the TPS is trying to send.

When I first checked this is when I replaced the ICM. Still the same. I don’t have any visible shorts and suspect some type of Voltage Leak which is why I replaced the ICM, AC Delco parts. Any ideas?

Thanx much..
Old October 11th, 2019, 2:52 AM
CF Beginner

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by nickmostly
Hello:
Newbie here hoping I might get help, this Throttle Position Sensor prob has me stumped!
The rig I’m working on is an 89 Chevy Caprice with the 305 olds engine. The code reader is reading 21, TPS voltage to high and 45, rich exhaust (make sense)