Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

1996 GMC Suburban C2500 Front Brake Wear

Search this Thread

Old January 21st, 2014, 8:34 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1996 GMC Suburban C2500 Front Brake Wear

I'm at the repair shop this morning and I'm faced with yet another brake job on my 1996 GMC Suburban C2500. What gives? Why does this vehicle eat up front brakes so often. The Suburban has ~150k miles and this will be the 5th time I've had major brake work performed - this time it's just pads and rotors. The last time (only 20k miles) it was calipers, pads and rotors.

I'm a pretty easy-going driver - I don't ride the brakes, I don't stop quickly (at least not on a regular basis). I like almost everything about this vehicle but the brakes are a problem. Is this a known issue? Is there anything I can do to make the pads and rotors last longer?

As I said, last time the brakes were repaired the calipers were replaced. At the time the service tech noticed the calipers were not retracting and this was thought to be the reason the rotors were getting hot spots. Well.... the rotors have hot spots again and I'm feeling a wobble in the front when I apply the brakes.

My new (to me) 2005 K2500 Suburban has great stopping power. It has four-wheel disc brakes so that helps. At 86K miles it has never had a brake job! Is the brake system on a 2005 that much better than a 1996?

Any comments/ideas are appreciated.
Old January 21st, 2014, 8:48 AM
Administrator

Received 157 Likes on 155 Posts

Have you replace the brake hoses?
Old January 21st, 2014, 8:55 AM
CF Beginner

The hoses were replaced ~20k miles ago when the calipers, pads and rotors were replaced.