2009 Nav Wiring - VSS bypass Diagram - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums
Sponsored by:

2009 Nav Wiring - VSS bypass Diagram


SabrToothSqrl's Avatar
CF Addict

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,811

August 25th, 2009, 12:22 PM   #1  
2009 Nav Wiring - VSS bypass Diagram

Yes; I did extensive google and searches on this site. Please post pics / links / help if you can!

I have an 09 Tahoe w/factory Sat Nav.

I want to try the VSS (Vehicle Speed Sensor, right?) bypass to allow me to enter address destinations on the roll... (Please no input on the legality / crashing issue, Honda, BMW, and Benz let you do it on the roll, so does my $100 4" GPS)

What wire is the VSS on the back of my head unit?

I want to know what I am looking for before I take it all apart.

I plan to wire in a hidden switch to it.

Can you please ID this wire in a diagram on the back of the unit.

Also, where does this wire connect to on the other end? would it be easier to tap at that end?

thanks!

 
73shark's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,433
KC, MO area

August 25th, 2009, 7:23 PM   #2  
Might try reading the Nav install sticky as I think VSS was discussed there.

 
mirage00's Avatar
CF Active Member

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 117

August 25th, 2009, 8:32 PM   #3  
Try this..

http://www.saturnoutlookforum.net/index.php?topic=294.0

 
SabrToothSqrl's Avatar
CF Addict

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,811

August 26th, 2009, 8:00 AM   #4  
I THINK I FOUND IT... a billion searches later:

I had the same problem. You have to make the connection to the vehicle speed signal for the Nav system to work properly. As you may have read in this thread, the VSS is picked up on the rear of a junction block GM calls "Junction Block - Left I/P" under the dash on the drivers side. VSS is available on plug X2 pin H1. It's a green wire with a white trace. If you did not buy a VSS harness with your equipment, you need to find a source.

- from someone else on the forum, and I have a diagram too!


is this diagram / info valid for the 09?! can I just pull the VSS wire and see what happens before I cut it and wire in a switch?

OR is it the GREEN wires in a BROWN harness behind the unit?!

Attached Thumbnails
2009 Nav Wiring - VSS bypass Diagram-jb%2520left%2520ip.jpg 2009 Nav Wiring - VSS bypass Diagram-vss.jpg

Last edited by SabrToothSqrl; August 26th, 2009 at 8:40 AM.
 
shawnvw's Avatar
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,545

August 27th, 2009, 10:40 AM   #5  
green\white wire in brown connector(Connector 4) in pin position 5

If you remove this wire from the circuit, your nav will no longer track your vehicle.

 
SabrToothSqrl's Avatar
CF Addict

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,811

August 27th, 2009, 11:15 AM   #6  
Vss

AWESOME, yes, thank you. I did find the diagram this morning, its in another post I created.

Not remove, just add a switch; elsewere on this forum its been discovered that by putting a switch on this wire you can enter addresses on the move, then put the switch back...

IE turn off, enter destination while rolling, turn back on....

I think the lock pick does the same thing, as it cuts the VSS wire for 60 seconds when you press MUTE 2X, from what I understand of the manual...

 
73shark's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9,433
KC, MO area

August 28th, 2009, 12:36 AM   #7  
So you can replace a $200 Lockpic w/ a $.75 switch?

 
SabrToothSqrl's Avatar
CF Addict

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,811

August 28th, 2009, 7:37 AM   #8  
yes

that's the plan! but it won't allow DVD movies on the go.. but I don't want that anyway... i just want address entry on the move...

I will hopefully get this done sat night; but I doubt it..

I still have an outstanding issue w/my sav nav factory and I dont want them to blame me for 'modifying' it.

 
mirage00's Avatar
CF Active Member

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 117

August 28th, 2009, 9:55 AM   #9  
Posted By: SabrToothSqrl that's the plan! but it won't allow DVD movies on the go.. but I don't want that anyway... i just want address entry on the move...

I will hopefully get this done sat night; but I doubt it..

I still have an outstanding issue w/my sav nav factory and I dont want them to blame me for 'modifying' it.
Good luck with the mod... when you take the radio out, please make note of the PART#. I want to compare to mine.

Thanks!

 
shawnvw's Avatar
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,545

August 31st, 2009, 5:11 PM   #10  
you guys and your part#'s.........Radio part numbers change ALL THE TIME. Why? I don't know. there may very well be 10 different part numbers for the nav radios in the NBS pick-up\suburban\tahoe\hummer\vue\enclave etc etc. The radios in all of these vehicle are EXACTLY the same. from the 07 NBS C\K's up to the 09's. The 2010's could be the same as well(haven't had the chance to work on one yet).
What i'm saying is if SabrToothSqrl, takes his hoe in, and they replace the radio, he could be getting a radio from an 07 vehicle. GM does not replace radios with new units. You get a REMAN radio. and if the radio is the same from an 07pick-up, to an 09 tahoe, you get what you get.
The differance in the radios is the software that is loaded when the radio is installed

[/RANT]


sorry for that ....had to get it off my chest

 
Search this Thread
Sponsors
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: