Notices
Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

To Flex-Fuel or not to Flex-Fuel?

Search this Thread

Old December 12th, 2014, 7:21 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default To Flex-Fuel or not to Flex-Fuel?

... that is the question.

Total noob here, but read thru a zillion posts so far. Very useful site, thanks.

Just bought my wife an '02 4WD Tahoe with a "Z" code vin, which implies that it it a flex-fuel model from all the info I've been able to find. However, there's an itty-bitty sticker on the inside of the fuel-fill door that says to not use flex-fuel with it.

No badges on the body, nothing either way in the manual.

So which is it? How do I determine for sure?

Thanks!
Old December 12th, 2014, 7:39 PM
Super Moderator

Received 507 Likes on 467 Posts

look for the rpo code L59 in the glove box. if you have that code its a flex fuel engine option.
The following users liked this post:
HHR guru (May 27th, 2022)
Old December 12th, 2014, 7:58 PM
CF Beginner

Thanks, T2. Yes, I do have the L59 code on the glove-box sticker. And, as mentioned, the "Z" code in the 8th position in the VIN. Therefore everything, except the fuel-door sticker, says it is.

How can I confirm?
Old December 12th, 2014, 9:20 PM
Super Moderator

post the last eight of your vin and I will check the build sheet.
Old December 13th, 2014, 4:08 AM
CF Beginner