Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Going to look at an 83 suburban tomorrow... need some help

Search this Thread

Old March 8th, 2012, 11:02 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Going to look at an 83 suburban tomorrow... need some help

Hi, my name is Paul and I own a smart car.

I'm sick of getting good gas mileage and decided to browse craigslist when lo and behold i found an 83 suburban with the 454 for a pretty good price. I'm interested...

so i call the guy and ask him a few questions. He informs me that the truck has sat for a while, but he has run it periodically. He also tells me that after you shut it off, it keeps idling for a little bit. It hasn't been tuned up in a long time, and he says there's probably bad gas in it.

I'm a mechanic, so engine work doesn't scare me. My only concern is for the dieseling after shutoff. The only problem is i've never laid a finger on a carbuerator and distributor. I'm told it could be timing, but i'm at the end of my intelligence when it comes to this stuff. I really just want to get an idea of what to look for tomorrow when i go to check this thing out.

i know its a long post, thanks for reading and any help is greatly appreciated
Old March 9th, 2012, 8:42 AM
CF Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

your a mechanic, yet have never laid a finger on a carb or distributor??? how???

the dieseling is likely from carbon buildup. given the age of the truck and the fuel that was thru it back in them days, I'm not suprised.

our 82 454 little motorhome does the same thing sometimes, and it's got like 85k on it.

:chug:
Old March 9th, 2012, 9:13 AM
CF Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Can't tell if trolling....

Can't tell if trolling....