Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

Reply

 
 
 
Old June 1st, 2008, 1:48 PM
  #1  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 27
Default Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

I just roatated my tires on my 07 Tahoe (20" factory tires and rims) and went thru the tire pressure location relearn procedure in the book. Did it several times, but the sensors did not relearn their location. Beside taking it back to the dealer has anyone got a procedure that works? Thanks.
cocodrie55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2008, 3:35 PM
  #2  
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24
Default RE: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

I had to take mine to the dealer after tires were rotated. System would not
relearn, and I did it by the book.
edward301 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2008, 4:05 PM
  #3  
Administrator
 
in2pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,452
Default RE: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

Try moving the tires a short distance away from the vehicle once removed, do a search on tire pressure in the Tahoe forum there are several articals ontire pressure and learning. I have only rotated mine once but had the dealer do it as I was in for an oil change.

Here is some good info from ZX
https://chevroletforum.com/m_35274/tm.htm
in2pro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2008, 12:58 PM
  #4  
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Default RE: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

A TPMS recalibration unit is needed for this. The dealer has one but some can be bought aftermarket. http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/item....mp;dir=catalog

SnapAttack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2008, 1:00 PM
  #5  
CF Active Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 159
Default RE: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

ORIGINAL: SnapAttack

A TPMS recalibration unit is needed for this. The dealer has one but some can be bought aftermarket. http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/item....mp;dir=catalog

$700.......thats cheap.
AZSCTACO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2008, 11:10 AM
  #6  
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 23
Default RE: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

I've been thru it , following the manual (taking air out of the tire)I couldn't hear the horn chirpsound ,but puting pressure into it made the difference ,my advice is :
set the tire pressure at 15 PSI (at the electronic gas station air pressure inflatorgauge),then follow the manual ,but put some air into it (set the gauge at 32PSI) ,horn chirp will sound.
neto1978 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2008, 7:09 PM
  #7  
CF Active Member
 
mary900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Adams, TN
Posts: 200
Default RE: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

Whether you re-learn by adding air into or by taking out of the tires, the trick is to have a quick and significant pressure change so the sensor will detect thechanges.In other words, slowly letting the air out of the tire or slowly adding the air back into the tire doesn't alwayswork.
mary900 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2008, 2:49 PM
  #8  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 27
Default RE: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

Thanks Neto and Mary. This is great info for everyone. I'll have to try this next time. I did take it to my dealer to be reset. They tried to charge me $51 to reset the sensors. I pointed out that a tire rotation that includes resetting the sensor positions (with their tool) was $16.95 and that I wouldn't pay the $51. I also told them that most dealers are doing it for free. They agreed to charge me for a tire rotation just to set the sensors. So for $16.95 they just lost a customer. What a bunch of stupid a...holes.
cocodrie55 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2016, 5:31 PM
  #9  
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for the advice. Worked first time and it took less than 5 minutes. I had a sensor telling me I had "0" psi in one tire, I knew differently. Had hope this would wake it up and it did. Thanks again... cha ching.....
George3rd is offline  
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Tony_B.
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups
2
July 22nd, 2015 12:28 PM
jlutty3
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups
1
March 2nd, 2015 9:33 PM
Classical Glass
Tahoe & Suburban
5
August 13th, 2007 12:08 PM
tahoe07
Tahoe & Suburban
14
December 11th, 2006 8:16 PM
biglg
Tahoe & Suburban
2
December 7th, 2006 7:28 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn


Sponsors

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: