Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums
Sponsored by:

Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn


cocodrie55's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 27

June 1st, 2008, 1:48 PM   #1  
Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

I just roatated my tires on my 07 Tahoe (20" factory tires and rims) and went thru the tire pressure location relearn procedure in the book. Did it several times, but the sensors did not relearn their location. Beside taking it back to the dealer has anyone got a procedure that works? Thanks.

 
edward301's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 24

June 1st, 2008, 3:35 PM   #2  
RE: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

I had to take mine to the dealer after tires were rotated. System would not
relearn, and I did it by the book.

 
in2pro's Avatar
Administrator

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7,438
Austin, Texas

June 1st, 2008, 4:05 PM   #3  
RE: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

Try moving the tires a short distance away from the vehicle once removed, do a search on tire pressure in the Tahoe forum there are several articals ontire pressure and learning. I have only rotated mine once but had the dealer do it as I was in for an oil change.

Here is some good info from ZX
https://chevroletforum.com/m_35274/tm.htm

 
SnapAttack's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1

June 3rd, 2008, 12:58 PM   #4  
RE: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

A TPMS recalibration unit is needed for this. The dealer has one but some can be bought aftermarket. http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/item....mp;dir=catalog


 
AZSCTACO's Avatar
CF Active Member

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 159

June 3rd, 2008, 1:00 PM   #5  
RE: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

ORIGINAL: SnapAttack

A TPMS recalibration unit is needed for this. The dealer has one but some can be bought aftermarket. http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/item....mp;dir=catalog

$700.......thats cheap.

 
neto1978's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 23

June 4th, 2008, 11:10 AM   #6  
RE: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

I've been thru it , following the manual (taking air out of the tire)I couldn't hear the horn chirpsound ,but puting pressure into it made the difference ,my advice is :
set the tire pressure at 15 PSI (at the electronic gas station air pressure inflatorgauge),then follow the manual ,but put some air into it (set the gauge at 32PSI) ,horn chirp will sound.

 
mary900's Avatar
CF Active Member

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 200
Adams, TN

June 4th, 2008, 7:09 PM   #7  
RE: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

Whether you re-learn by adding air into or by taking out of the tires, the trick is to have a quick and significant pressure change so the sensor will detect thechanges.In other words, slowly letting the air out of the tire or slowly adding the air back into the tire doesn't alwayswork.

 
cocodrie55's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 27

June 5th, 2008, 2:49 PM   #8  
RE: Tire Pressure Sensor Relearn

Thanks Neto and Mary. This is great info for everyone. I'll have to try this next time. I did take it to my dealer to be reset. They tried to charge me $51 to reset the sensors. I pointed out that a tire rotation that includes resetting the sensor positions (with their tool) was $16.95 and that I wouldn't pay the $51. I also told them that most dealers are doing it for free. They agreed to charge me for a tire rotation just to set the sensors. So for $16.95 they just lost a customer. What a bunch of stupid a...holes.

 
George3rd's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 7
Florida

January 30th, 2016, 5:31 PM   #9  
Thanks for the advice. Worked first time and it took less than 5 minutes. I had a sensor telling me I had "0" psi in one tire, I knew differently. Had hope this would wake it up and it did. Thanks again... cha ching.....

 
Search this Thread
Sponsors
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: