TrailBlazer 2002-2009
The TrailBlazer, originally introduced as an upscale Blazer, was produced from 2002 to 2008 with a powerful I6 engine and with a monster V8 offered in the Trailblazer SS
Platform: GMT 305, 360, & 370.

Check engine light came on today

Search this Thread

Old October 8th, 2007, 6:02 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Check engine light came on today

lately Ive been hearing what sounds light the engine fan roaring louder when I take off from a stand still. doesnt seem to be giving any drive problems though. But today the check engine light has come on. I have a 2005 Trailblazer. 40,??? miles on it. does anyone have any ideas.

I dont know about any codes or were to check for them. Im new at having this Trailblazer. Thanx in advance.
Old October 9th, 2007, 2:05 AM
CF Senior Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Check engine light came on today

Your nearby Autozone, Advance Auto, O'Reilly's Auto stores, and some others have code readers, and will help you at no cost. Just drop by one of the stores and tell them your check engine light is on and ask them to read the codes for you.
Old November 16th, 2007, 10:59 PM
CF Beginner

They sell those code readers too. But I took mine to Autozone and it read the "cooling fan module" was out. This was after the engine light was on and I had it diagnosed at a local repair shop and they told me it was the fan clutch that was "about to go out". They quoted a price of $1600 parts/labor. The fan clutch, they said, was $500. I bought one for around 200 and my brother helped replace it. It took us close to 2 hours. But the engine light was still on and that's when Autozone helped me out.