Express & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

In the market for a work van.

Search this Thread

Old June 22nd, 2022, 11:00 AM
CF Junior Member

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default In the market for a work van.

Hi everyone. New member here.

I'm new to GM products but not new to automotive forums or vehicles. I'm a pretty handy mechanic with access to a full shop.

From what I've found my budget will afford a cargo van from around 04 to 07 with some miles on it. Earlier if there's an advantage. I'll be using it as a dedicated work van for my aluminum construction business (patio covers, screen rooms, Florida rooms etc...). Here in Florida rust is rarely an issue. Even our 20 and 30 year old vehicles look new underneath.

I'm currently in an 05 Grand Caravan (Dodge minivan FWD unibody) that I've modified and practically rebuilt over the years. It's been a good vehicle but I've pretty much maxed it out. I need more room for tools and more towing capacity.

I already know I like having the windows in the side and rear doors. I don't need more than one shelf or cabinet so I'd prefer the windows.

At this point I'm looking for advice on what years or models may have problems or advantages over others. Basically what to avoid or search for. Different engines, transmissions or packages. I really don't know much about these vans. Is there a thread or discussion that already covers this?

Old June 22nd, 2022, 9:10 PM
Super Moderator

Received 615 Likes on 556 Posts

GM did not mess around with vans. They've remained essentially the same for almost 30 years.
Choose the engine that provides the power you need. fueleconomy.gov has the consumption numbers if you need to know, but they're all gas guzzlers as you would expect. The V6 it doesn't have enough power to get out of its own way.
You can read the minutiae on wikipedia.