Express, Savana & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse.

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

2006 GMC Savanna AWD A/C Clutch Replacement

Search this Thread

Old June 5th, 2023, 11:42 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2006 GMC Savanna AWD A/C Clutch Replacement

Good morning all,
I am a new member and first time poster, but I just did a repair on my Van (Hank the Tank) and wanted to document it, as I did a lot of searching and found no info on the interwebs pre-repair. So, here is a little story/notes that will hopefully help if your A/C compressor clutch goes and you want to save ~$1000 by repairing yourself. I am NOT a mechanic by trade, but I am a decent wrench and am fairly well tooled.
So here is my story, sorry I didn't take pics, but I think it is all pretty straight forward and hopefully youtube videos exist for some of this stuff.

My A/C stopped working, and this makes my wife want a new van which is out of the question, Hank is a Tank, and we have no money for a nice new van. I wanted to diagnose before taking to a shop, so I investigated. 1st, I checked that the dash board heater/AC controls were working. The doors behind the dash are all vacuum operated, and if you break a vacuum line, that could keep air from going where it is supposed to, leading you to think the AC is bad when it is actually a heater control issue. (I have had to repair the vacuum lines, they are a pain). Anyway, that system checked out as still operable.
Next to check was the fuses. The A/C fuse on my rig was in the fuse panel in the engine compartment, I think #9 or 10, but you can look that up easy enough. I also checked a bunch of other fuses that I thought may be related to the A/C, all checked out intact, not blown.