Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

454 engine question

Search this Thread

Old November 25th, 2020, 2:15 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 454 engine question

Hey all. I have a 1991 Fleetwood Bounder motorhome that is having engine trouble. It is a Chevy 454 engine. I did a half assed compression check and found the following the back 3 cylinders on the passenger side have 50, 0, and 50 for the compression. Keep in mind that I am not a mechanic and I did not remove all the spark plugs when i did the test. I just removed one at a time after replacing the spark plugs and plug wires. my question is that since the compression is bad on those three cylinders is it possible that I blew a head gasket? No, I do not seem to have milky oil and I also took out the plug on the 0 cylinder and using a endoscope I can see the cylinder head is moving up and down. I am really hoping not to have to remove the whole engine as doing so would be more then this thing is worth by a couple thousand dollars. I also have positive pressure pushing out the dip stick. Is it worth it to either try to do the head gasket myself(I have not done one yet) or pay someone to do it for me? I need a mechanic's opinion on this.

Thanks for any help you can give.

James
Old November 25th, 2020, 2:28 PM
CF Active Member

Received 42 Likes on 38 Posts