Monte Carlo & Lumina Since the 1970s, the Monte Carlo has been an icon of American stock car racing. A 4-door version, the Lumina, was produced in the late 90's.
Platform: A-, G-, & W-body
Old July 22nd, 2015, 1:21 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Lighting
Print Wikipost

Disable auto headlights in 06 Monte Carlo

Search this Thread

Old August 30th, 2009, 8:44 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Disable auto headlights in 06 Monte Carlo

Yes I'm a noob to the site, I own a 2006 Monte Carlo LT 3900. I belong to other strictly MC sites but can't find this answer anywhere.

I searched the site and found results but none for my specific vehicle.

I want to disable the automatic headlights. I've already disabled the DRL's by pulling the fuses. I've read that replacing the ambient light sensor with a 600ohm resistor works on other new GM's to kill the auto lights, should this work for mine? Will I still be able to retain my auto HVAC?

Thanks!
Old August 31st, 2009, 3:42 PM
Banned

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

I can't say if it will work or not, I cannot find an exact resistance value of when the lights turn on or off. Installing the resistor will not harm the system at all so it won't hurt to try it.
And I also don't see how it would affect the HVAC....driving suring the day or at night, the auto HVAC should always function
Old August 31st, 2009, 6:16 PM
CF Beginner

I'm just going off of what this says.I know it's for 07+ full size trucks/suv's but I guess I'll give it a shot.

Last edited by NYSt8ofMiNd; August 31st, 2009 at 8:18 PM.
Old August 31st, 2009, 8:23 PM
CF Beginner

Ok I tried it. I couldn't find 600ohm resistors at Radio Shack so I had to solder a 560 and 47ohm resistor together for roughly 607ohms. Wired it in place of the sensor and voila! no automatic headlights at start up when it's dark.