Monte Carlo & Lumina Since the 1970s, the Monte Carlo has been an icon of American stock car racing. A 4-door version, the Lumina, was produced in the late 90's.
Platform: A-, G-, & W-body

Monte Carlo issues

Search this Thread

Old January 15th, 2009, 9:07 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Monte Carlo issues

Hey all im a newbie here. I havent been able to get some accurate help on the issues with my Mote Carlo Ls. its the 1997 with the 3.1l automatic.

Well let me do a bit of a history on the car. Im the 3rd owner of it. THe first owner gave it to his brother after he had the engine and transmission rebuilt. Well what happend was is the oil pump failed and the engine lost oil pressure and went kaput. So the owner went to a shop and had both the engine and transmission replaced with the same year and model. They dropped everything through the bottom of the car. Then put it all back in. The previus owner drove it around for about 6 months or so.(didnt change oil during this time) So he sold it when he had to put young kids in the back with a bad back. I bought it for 900(tired to make him go to 850,he wouldnt) The car is very sound. But theres a few issues i have with it. Like i have an ABS light that has come one and went off when i added brake fluid. But now its back again(badr relay/noid?). Even tho i changed the oil my change oil light is still on. SO i think ill change it again with my Marvel Mystery oil into it.I have sevral codes that are all emmisions related. As well as my add coolant light(but i cant find any leaks as of now. but if there is perhaps lower hose or headgasket?) I have a vaucme leake at my pcv valve but im going to get the boot for it.

the codes i have are(i dont know the numbers but ill list what i remember)
Cataylst Ineficant Flow(P0440)
EGR Valve insufienct flow

Can anyone help me? i really would like to get my car on the road before march
Old January 22nd, 2009, 2:15 PM
CF Junior Member