Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx
Old July 24th, 2015, 4:31 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Engine and Powertrian
Print Wikipost

Knock Sensors

Search this Thread

Old May 30th, 2011, 11:35 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Knock Sensors

I've got a 2004 Silverado 2500 HD and my Check Engine Light is on and indicated I have an issue with my knock sensors. Does anyone have any experiene replacing these? I saw on Ebay you can buy a knock sensor for about $35 and there is 2 of them in a vehicle. I'm a pretty green mechanic, but I can find my way around if its not too complex of a job. Any good instructions or advice on how to go about changing these? Or should I just have it professionally done?
Old May 30th, 2011, 12:11 PM
Super Moderator

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

it's not as hard as you may think...just under the intake manifold and when you replace em make sure you put some silicone around them so water doesn't get in there

all it is is takin the intake manifold off with all the wires and what not
Old June 17th, 2011, 12:25 PM
CF Beginner

I'm wondering how you made out replacing those knock sensors. Was it as easy as it sounded? I've an 01 Silverado that has the knock sensor code but I was told by another mechanic that the knock sensor code is usually thrown because of another underlying problem. Did replacing yours remedy the problem for you or did you discover something else is wrong?
Old June 17th, 2011, 5:10 PM
Super Moderator

Originally Posted by BabiedSilverado