Notices
TrailBlazer 2002-2009
The TrailBlazer, originally introduced as an upscale Blazer, was produced from 2002 to 2008 with a powerful I6 engine and with a monster V8 offered in the Trailblazer SS
Platform: GMT 305, 360, & 370.

Blower Motor will not spin on ANY speeds

Old July 2nd, 2019, 1:08 PM
  #1  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Blower Motor will not spin on ANY speeds

Hello, I have a 2006 Trailblazer LS 4WD. Two weeks ago my blow motor stopped spinning during a long drive. It will not spin on any speeds (1,2,3,4,5). I replaced the blower motor, tested the fuse, replaced the blower motor resistor, and then checked for a ground issue by running a wire from the resistor to ground. None of these have fixed my problem. I have confirmed that there is an issue that current is not getting to my blower motor for some reason. However, the ground seems to be okay, and the fuse is not blown. Could it be the switch in the dash? Could the switch have gone bad and not be giving current to the motor? Any thoughts and ideas greatly appreciated.
Wes Tripple is offline  
Old July 2nd, 2019, 5:19 PM
  #2  
CF Monarch
 
tech2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6,761
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

auto or manual system?
they are wired completely different
tech2 is offline  
Old July 2nd, 2019, 5:28 PM
  #3  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It is a manual system
Wes Tripple is offline  
Old July 2nd, 2019, 8:21 PM
  #4  
CF Monarch
 
tech2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6,761
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

verify these fuses are good:
-underhood fuse block fuse #35 blower fuse 40 amp
-rear fuse block under back seat #44 hvac fuse 30 amp

if both are good; find the blower resistor...unplug the connector to the resistor, turn the key to run, blower motor on high
-there should be battery voltage on the red wire and orange wire; do you have that?
tech2 is offline  
Old July 7th, 2019, 7:52 AM
  #5  
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I've tried everything listed here and nothing has worked. Has anyone found a solution to this problem?
BlazedBlazer is offline  
Old July 7th, 2019, 11:48 AM
  #6  
CF Monarch
 
tech2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6,761
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

post the result of the check for power on the red and orange wires

this hvac module has diagnostic capabilities....did you check for body codes with a full function scan tool?
tech2 is offline  
Old July 7th, 2019, 12:20 PM
  #7  
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by tech2 View Post
post the result of the check for power on the red and orange wires

this hvac module has diagnostic capabilities....did you check for body codes with a full function scan tool?
I don't have access to the truck right now but when I connected the volt meter to it and the negative to the black wire I would get 12 volts. Also, I replaced the wiring and when the red and black wire (accidentally) touched, they sparked which shows they are live. I'm unsure where else to go ..


I do have an OBDII reader but only code the car throws is a P1400 which is unrelated.
BlazedBlazer is offline  
Old July 7th, 2019, 4:49 PM
  #8  
CF Monarch
 
tech2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6,761
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

code reader can't access body codes.

check both wires I have mentioned and report back.
tech2 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: