Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

Headlights Dim at idle

Search this Thread

Old January 31st, 2021, 9:12 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Headlights Dim at idle

Hi there, newbie here. I have a 07 Chevy Cobalt LS that I've been trying to fix up myself. One of the issues I've been having is the headlights will dim and fluctuate in intensity when they're on, noticeable at night. They would dim at the same pace of the dashboard which seemed to be in time with listening to the engine.

I replaced the battery, serpentine belt and alternator, in that order. Maybe about a week apart from each other. Anyway, I was dreading and putting off replacing the alternator because of how difficult it was to get to but after the last two attempts with replacing the 10 year old battery and super worn out belt, the alternator seemed it was going to be problem solver (after reading it was most likely the culprit on numerous forums/websites).

After tearing up my arms reaching in and cursing all morning, I was able to get the alternator replaced. Drives fine, arguably feels like it drives with a little more pep but maybe that's in my head.